Small Provisional Community – “to spend my time with people who are less privileged”

My name is Rafaela, I’m 21 years old and living in Switzerland and studying to become a religion teacher and a youth worker.

rafaelaSince I’m able to think I took part in the parish life of the local church. So faith was always a part of my life but it never felt really deep and honest that time. Than with 16 years I came to Taizé the first time and this changed my life. I felt so good to sing, to pray and to live with so many different people together. So I continued to travel to Taizé regularly. Every time I was there, my faith became stronger and deeper. I also had more questions that questioned my life as it was until than. I realized that I want and must work with people. Something different didn’t make sense to me anymore.

In November 2015 I heard the first time about the temporary communities, I also knew that this is something for me. So I got the opportunity to go with two wonderful girls to eastern Ukraine. We spend there four weeks in engagement with the local people. It was a very strong and beautiful experience.

Than at another visit at Taizé I met Brother Leo by accident, he told me about the project in Lebanon. I told him, no it’s not possible for me, I’d be busy with university in that time. But in the next days I couldn’t think about something different. I knew that I have to go, I wanted to do this new experience to spend my time with people who are less privileged. So I organized everything that I’m able to go. I’m very curious and really looking forward to what’s waiting for us in Lebanon! (Rafaela)

One thought on “Small Provisional Community – “to spend my time with people who are less privileged”

Leave a Reply

